PDP wins Akwa Ibom, Bauchi rerun elections

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the weekend defeated the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the senatorial and House of Representatives rerun elections held in Akwa Ibom and Bauchi states respectively.
In Akwa Ibom, Godswill Akpabio again lost his bid to return to the Senate in a poll won by PDP’s Christopher Ekpenyong.
Announcing the results on Sunday, INEC disclosed that Ekpeyong won the seat with 134, 717 to Akpabio’s 83, 820 votes.
The result indicated that Akpabio only floored Ekpeyong in his ward where he polled 762 votes against PDP’s 620. Ekpeyong won in all the other wards of the affected area of the state.
Speaking after being declared the winner, an excited Ekpeyong said his victory had ended what he called the dark days of shame in the state.
“I thank God the giver of victory for seeing me through the entire political debacle since September 2018,” he said.
In Bauchi, the APC also lost in the supplementary election for the House of Representatives, as PDP’s Auwal Jatau was announced victorious at the poll held on Saturday for the Zaki federal constituency.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the outcome of the exercise was announced by Ahmed Kutama, a professor at a federal university in Jigawa state and INEC officer for the voting exercise.
According to Kutama, the PDP candidate scored 15,405 votes while his co-contender, Umar Tata of the APC, had 15,307 votes.
It was learnt that a total of 20 candidates contested for the position on the platforms of various parties.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button